Candid Reflections

August 4, 2008

I’ve Been Tagged

Filed under: Everything Else — candid reflections @ 9:38 am

The beautiful and talented Spanki over at spankslittlerascals has tagged me at a game of show-and-tell.  When you visit her blog, you’ll find her gorgeous family, great decorating, and loads of inspiration from her journey through life. 

Sooo… here’s everything you never knew you wanted to know about me.

1.  Where have you traveled?     Growing up, my family did a lot of camping and exploring in our home state.  We also explored the sites in surrounding states.  For our honeymoon, my husband and I went on a Caribbean cruise, stopping at Jamaica, the Bahamas, Tulum, Xel-ha, Grand Caymen, Cozumel…

And recently we traveled to Hawaii to stay with our good friends who were living there this past spring.

Of the places that I’d like to travel, Greece, Ireland, and New England in the autumn time, are at the top of my list.

2.  Where would you like to live?     I’m happy just where I am… on some land out in the countryside, in a house that my husband and I built with our own two hands. (as well as the hands of some wonderful family & friends.)

The sunsets from our bedroom window are amazing! 

3.  What is your decorative style?     My style is pretty much a hodge podge, what do they call that… eclectic?  I’m kind of farmhouse meets country cottage.  When I’m out shopping for the house, I just try to pick out things that I think I might like to look at day after day.  I really just want it to feel cozy when you come for a visit… put your feet up and share a cup of tea with me.

 4.  How many times have you been married?     One, to my high-school sweetheart.  We’ve just celebrated our fifteenth wedding anniversary.

5.  What is your favorite color?     I like different shades of green, my most recent is a mossy green.  I also like shades of brown.  And my most recent of recent favorite colors is aqua.

6.  What is your proudest accomplishment?     Someday, I hope to say that my proudest accomplishment is having nurtured my children into happy, healthy adults. 

7.  What would we be absolutely shocked to know about you?     I have the longest toes of anyone I have ever met, except for my radiantly gorgeous auntie Barbara Lynn (I think we tie, actually!)  My toes are as long as some peoples fingers I tell ya!  I’d post a picture, but you wouldn’t believe it, you’d think they were my hands.    

Now, it’s my turn to tag… so if you’d like to join in the fun then come on, I’d love to hear your own answers …in my comments or at your own blog!

4 Comments »

  1. Thanks, Michelle 🙂
    I’m terrible at following thru with these tag things at my blog (y’know, they require so many words…), but I’m happy to answer here…
    1. Traveling: We fairly regularly travel the West Coast (we live in SoCal and drive up to WA). All my growing up years we would travel to the Colorado River in AZ (my favorite place to ski). I lived in Germany for a semester in college and used my Europass to go to France, Switzerland, Austria, Yugoslavia, Italy, and Hungary. I would Love Love Love to someday drive all through the US (dragging our boat along) and see all the National Parks and stop and ski wherever the water looks warm and smooth!

    2. I love where I live now, but I must admit to occasionally daydreaming about living in some small Southern town with an “At Home in Mitford” feel to it.

    3. My decorative style is wanna-be Pottery Barn. But with the toys & goodies & lifestyle that goes along with 3 young boys, I think I’m probably a decade away from realizing that vision. I like clean, uncluttered, simple, comfortable, uncluttered, warm, did I mention uncluttered??? Someday….

    4. Married just once. We also just celebrated our 15 year anniversary. I still like him and think I will keep him. 😉

    5. Oh gosh. I love colors. All colors. Don’t think I can narrow it down…

    6. Proudest accomplishment … probably my three boys. Tho, really that doesn’t feel much like an accomplishment of mine … more like the grace of God…

    7. Shocking? Hmmmm … perhaps that I’m the pickiest eater on the planet earth. Couldn’t be a vegetarian because I don’t really like vegetables. Don’t really like meat much better. Don’t like eggs either. But I do pretty much appreciate and enjoy desserts. :-}

    Btw, Michelle – your home that you built is BEAUTIFUL!!! I can see why you’d want to live there forever!!

    Comment by Susan Keller — August 4, 2008 @ 12:21 pm

  2. oh you did this so fast! it took me three days to get mine together! i love learning more about you, i think that if we lived closer, you’d be one of my best friends that could sit on the phone with all day! but we don’t, so i will make the best out of it over the internet, but i hope one day we can meet and have a great girls weekend! i absolutely adore your home. you know we bought that land and plan on building some day, and your house is something i could see sitting on the hill! where did you find your floor plan? and you have made the inside a home! i love it!!!

    Comment by spanki — August 4, 2008 @ 1:40 pm

  3. thanks Michelle…sounds fun…it might take me a while to get it together but it should be fun. Ü

    Comment by Nancy — August 5, 2008 @ 7:49 am

  4. Susan~
    Wow! All the places you’ve been… I’m drooling. Can I hide in your boat on your trip through the US – I love to water ski!

    I know what you mean when you talk about life with three young boys… what’s it going to be like in another five years… their stinky socks are just going to grow BIGGER!

    Congrats on 15 years, here’s to fifty more! 😉

    Spanki~
    A girls weekend – definitely! I’m having so much fun getting to know you through reading your blog! I am inspired by your faith and your outlook on life.

    I would love to see pictures of your land, and I’m excited to watch the progress of your home being built. Just don’t be suprised at how long it may take… it was several years from the time we bought our land to the time we moved in to our new home (although the home building part only took 15 months – as our own contractors and builders)… we took the slow route!

    Nancy~
    I’m so glad you decided to join the tag game, I know your answers will be great! You always have a way of inspiring me, and you never fail to put a chuckle in my heart… I can’t wait to hear your answers!

    Comment by candid reflections — August 6, 2008 @ 5:44 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

